UPDATED: MacKay named Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.


Central Nova MP Peter MacKay is Canada's new Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada.

He is being replaced in the National Defence post by Rob Nicholson.

MacKay served in the National Defence position since Aug. 14, 2007, making him one of Canada's longest serving Defense ministers.

"I am honoured to have been given the Justice portfolio. As a former Crown prosecutor and defence counsel, I feel I have a great deal to offer the Department of Justice and I look forward to my new responsibilities and the work ahead," MacKay said in a statement released this afternoon. "As Attorney General of Canada I will be dedicated to upholding a fair, relevant and accessible justice system that reflects Canadians' values." He stated that he has thoroughly enjoyed the last six years at National Defence. "The service and sacrifice of our men and women in uniform will remain with me forever," he said. "I am confident that Minister Nicholson will do a stellar job."   The full list of cabinet ministers and portfolios announced this morning:

Bernard Valcourt - Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development

Michelle Rempel - Minister of State (Western Economic Diversification)

Shelly Glover - Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages

Kevin Sorenson - Minister of State (Finance)

Greg Rickford - Minister of State (Science and Technology / Fednor)

Kerry-Lynne Findlay - Minister of National Revenue

Kellie Leitch - Minister of Labour and Minister of Status of Women

Candice Bergen - Minister of State (Social Development)

Alice Wong - Minister of State (Seniors)

Leona Aglukkaq - Minister of Environment, Minister of CanNor, and Minister for the Arctic Council

James Moore - Minister of Industry

Rona Ambrose - Minister of Health

Gary Goodyear - Minister of State (Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario)

Rob Moore - Minister of State (ACOA) and Regional Minister for NB and NFLD

Bal Gosal - Minister of State (Sport)

John Duncan - Minister of State (Chief Government Whip)

John Baird - Minister of Foreign Affairs

Pierre Poilievre - Minister of State (Democratic Reform)

Lynne Yelich - Minister of State (Foreign Affairs and Consular Services)

Julian Fantino - Minister of Veterans Affairs

Tim Uppal - Minister of State (Multiculturalism)

Ed Fast - Minister of International Trade

Gail Shea - Minister of Fisheries and Oceans

Chris Alexander - Minister of Citizenship and Immigration

Joe Oliver - Minister of Natural Resources

Peter Van Loan - Leader of the Government in the House of Commons

Tony Clement - President of the Treasury Board

Denis Lebel - Minister of Infrastructure, Communities and Intergovernmental Affairs, and Minister of DEC, Regional Minister for Quebec

Gerry Ritz - Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food

Steven Blaney - Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness

Diane Finley - Minister of Public Works and Government Services

Jason Kenney - Minister of Employment and Social Development (formerly HRSDC)

Christian Paradis - Minister of International Development and Minister for La Francophonie

Lisa Raitt – Minister of Transport

Maxime Bernier - Minister of State (Small Business and Tourism) and Minister of State (Agriculture)

Rob Nicholson - Minister of National Defence

Peter MacKay - Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada

Jim Flaherty - Minister of Finance



Organizations: National Defence

Geographic location: Canada

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page



Recent comments

  • Bloated
    July 15, 2013 - 13:48

    Last weekend, Mr. MacKay was at the New Glasgow Farmer's Market sitting and having coffee and treats with a bunch of veterans (he was still Minister of Veterans Affairs). Now that he's Justice Minister, should we be expecting this minister to do the same with a bunch of criminals (a bunch of Conservative Senators for instance).