Tucker's late pass leads to victory

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Shawn Tucker

JAMES RIVER - Shawn Tucker took the lead on lap 226 and drove his Chevrolet Impala to the checkered flag at the IWK 250 at Riverside International Speedway on Saturday night.

Tucker held off hometown favourite Donald Chisholm and NASCAR Sprint Cup Champion Brad Keselowski for the win in front of a capacity crowd. Rounding out the top five were Kent Vincent (Crapaud, P.E.I.) and Austin Theriault (Mooresville, N.C.).

The day started with an intense round of qualifying where 34 cars were racing for only 30 starting spots. Atlantic Tiltload Time Trials saw Chisholm take the top spot after laying down a fast lap of 14.399 seconds.

The King Freight Dash Winner was Jonathan Hicken (Brudenell, P.E.I) which won him the honour of starting the prestigious event from the pole position.

The Dartmouth Dodge Heat Race winners were Cole Butcher (Porter’s Lake, N.S.), Brad Eddy (Lower Sackville, N.S.), and Dylan Gosbee (Cornwall, P.E.I.).

A 15 lap Dartmouth Dodge B Feature was run to determine the final qualifying positions and saw Denver Foran (Edmonton, AB) awarded the spot. The final four qualifying positions were awarded via provisionals and went to Steve Ross (Waverley, N.S.), Brad Mann (Glen Levit, N.B.), Jason Carnahan (Stilesville, N.B.), and Terry Dougay (Albany, P.E.I.).


New Glasgow's George Koszkulics finished sixth in the main event, while Foran who races out of Pictou finished 14th.

More to come

Organizations: JAMES RIVER, IWK 250, NASCAR

Geographic location: Mooresville, N.C., Dartmouth, Lower Sackville Cornwall Edmonton Stilesville Albany

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page