Finalists for deCoste Sound of Youth Music Competition named

Published on April 23, 2014

Five acts have been selected from the three high schools in Pictou County (NNEC, NRHS and PA) to compete in The deCoste Sound of Youth Music Competition.

These young musicians will compete for votes online and for “real” votes from three celebrity judges at a live concert to be held at the deCoste Centre on Thursday, June 5 at 7:30 pm.  Admission is just $5. and all proceeds will go to The Pictou County Roots for Youth Society. Tickets will be available from the deCoste Centre and all three high schools.      The prizes to be awarded include two recording sessions; one produced by Dave Gunning at Wee House of Music and the other by Gord Stensrud at Sea Level Sound. Gift cards from H&R Music totaling $600 will also be awarded. Ann MacGregor, Jason Brushett and Ashley George will select the winning acts at the concert on June 5th. Videos of the top five will be posted soon for online voting on the deCoste site and facebook page.   The five acts competing for these prizes are as follows: from P.A; “Echo” from NRHS; “The Third Step” and a duo featuring Maddie Fleming and Mallory MacDermid, and from NNEC; a duo featuring Joel MacNeil and Jenna Duggan, and a four-piece band featuring Sarah English, Cassie Mann, Evan Curley and Justin Kellock.    A special guest performance will be presented by Markus MacDonald, winner of the 2012 deCoste Sound of Youth Competition. Emcees for the concert will be Emily MacDonald and Isaac Young from Pictou Academy. The concert poster was designed by Morgan Baillie from NRHS. Students on the planning committee are Rayelle Canam and Isaac Young from Pictou Academy, Christine Ingham from NRHS and Hilary MacInnis from NNEC.