North Nova annual non-academic awards night held recently

Published on June 18, 2014
North Nova’s artists of the year, Joel MacNeil and Cassie Mann, pose for a photo after receiving their awards at NNEC’s annual non-academic awards night. CHRISTOPHER CAMERON – THE NEWS

With North Nova Education Centre having a number of talented members in their arts community the decision on the artists of the year was a tough one.

At the North Nova non-academic awards night as Andrew Alcorn announced the nominees he stated that any of them would be worthy recipients, but it was Joel MacNeil and Cassie Mann who would receive the honours this year.

NNEC’s other major arts award, the Joel Pratt Devotion to the Arts Award, was also presented for the third year. It is presented annually to a male and female member of the North Nova arts community who best personifies unbridled passion and commitment for drama, choir, band and/or the musical production. They will have also participated in a variety of performance arts throughout their high school years at NNEC.

Evan Curley and Laycie Sutherland were this year’s recipients.

Below is the list of individual award winners:


The Musical “Spamalot” Awards

Top actor: Joel MacNeil

Top actress: Laycie Sutherland

Special Merit for Dedication Above and Beyond: Laura Moore and Andrew McGowan

Tech award: Luke MacDonald

Back stage MVP: Matt Carrigan

Outstanding Playwright: Josh Fifield

Pit Band Award: Casey Romain


School Community Awards

WIN Team – Outstanding Leadership: Jocelyn Rozee

Unsung Hero Award for selfless dedication to NNEC student life: Sarah English


Student Council Awards

Advisor's Award: Meredith Hynes

Freshman of the Year: Emma Curley

Spirit and Selfless Service: Hilary MacInnis


Rotary Interact Club

Outstanding Contribution: Meredith Hynes and Farrah Soliman


Band & Choir Awards

Concert Band

Best Woodwind: Casey Romain

Best Brass: Luke Henderson

Top Percussionist: Justin Kellock

Director’s Choice Award: Evan Curley

Female rookie of the year: Emma MacNeil

Male rookie of the year: Brandon Bent

Dance Band

Dance Band Award: Evan Curley

Outstanding Vocalists: Joel MacNeil and Laura Moore

Jazz Choir

Top Female: Regan Keay

Top Male: Andrew Halliday

Male Rookie of the Year: Matt Greencorn

Female Rookie of the Year: Caitrin Skelton

Director’s Choice Award: Cassie Mann

Concert Choir

Best Female: Lacey Sutherland

Best Male: Joel MacNeil

Director’s Choice Award: Sarah English

Male Rookie of the Year: Luke Henderson

Female Rookie of the Year: Carleigh Halliday

Jazz Band

Top soloist awards: Lacey Sutherland, Rory McInnes, Cassie Mann and Evan Curley

Section awards: Eric Pelton, Casey Romain and Kim Cormier

Rookie of the Year: Nicole Corkum

Chamber Choir

Top Female: Julie Munro

Top Male: Nick Higgs

Jazz Combo Awards

Top Female: Cassie Mann

Top Male: Michael MacIntosh

Rookie of the Year: Luke Henderson

Unsung Hero of the Arts: Laura Moore and Evan Curley

Sound Tech Award: Maria White

Ken Roy Memorial Award: Emma Curley

Nov Award: Jamie McCarron


The Joel Pratt Devotion to the Arts Award

Male: Evan Curley

Female: Laycie Sutherland


Male Artist of the Year: Joel MacNeil

Female Artist of the Year Award: Cassie Mann