Banner week for Northern Rebels

Published on March 16, 2014
The Northern Rebels peewee B team pose with the two banners they won last week. Front row from left: Jack Finlay and Ryan Royles. Middle row from left: Clark Robertson (A), Ryan Farrell, Sam DeCoff, Cody LeBlanc, Nicholas MacInnis, Max MacKinnon (A), Braydon Killen (A), Matt Allen, Nick Rogerson and Ben Turnbull (C). Back from left: Dan Robertson (head coach), Julie LeBlanc (manager), Tim LeBlanc (assistant coach), Nicholas MacDonald, Thomas Lennon, Scott Rogerson (assistant coach), Madison Bond and Larry Turnbull (head coach). Missing from photo: Alex Ross and Broden DeCoff.

The Northern Rebels peewee B team finished off their season by taking home two banners this past week.

On Wednesday, the team was presented with the “Fundy Highland” Championship banner for placing first overall in their division. Ryan Royles was awarded the Peewee B outstanding player trophy.

Thursday, the second banner was won in dramatic fashion by winning the Trenton March Break tournament in overtime against the New Waterford Sharks.

Clark Robertson scored early in the first period and the game remained 1-0 until the Sharks scored with 1:18 remaining in the third to tie it. Ben Turnbull scored the game-winning goal two minutes into the overtime period.

Assists went to Madison Bond, Max MacKinnon and Cody LeBlanc.