Top News

Three more schools to offer pre-primary in Pictou County

Three more schools in Pictou County will be getting pre-primary programs for the 2019-2020 school year.

A.G. Baillie Memorial, Salt Springs Elementary and Scotsburn Elementary School were all named as new sites for the upcoming school year. The program already operates at Frank H. Macdonald School, New Glasgow Academy, Thorburn Consolidated School, Trenton Elementary School and Walter Duggan Consolidated School.

This will mark year three, of a four-year rollout, that will bring the total number of schools in Nova Scotia delivering the program to 201. The expansion will see 84 new classrooms and based on Grade Primary enrolment data, it is anticipated about 1,400 four-year-olds could access the program.

"Access to early learning opportunities the year before a child starts school supports lifelong success," said Zach Churchill, Minister of Education and Early Childhood Development. "This is a program that families want in their communities and we are one year away from being able to give every four-year-old in the province the opportunity to participate."

This year, more than 3,000 children enrolled in the pre-primary program.

For a full list of the new pre-primary locations and more information about the program, visit

Recent Stories