Top News

Halliday, MacKay, Simpson named athletes of the year at NNEC

Raymond Simpson was named Male Athlete of the Year at NNEC, while Camryn Halliday (centre) and Lucia MacKay shared Female Athlete of the Year honours.
Raymond Simpson was named Male Athlete of the Year at NNEC, while Camryn Halliday (centre) and Lucia MacKay shared Female Athlete of the Year honours. - Fram Dinshaw

NEW GLASGOW – Raymond Simpson was named the Male Athlete of the Year at North Nova Education Centre’s non-academic awards night on Wednesday.

Camryn Halliday and Lucia MacKay shared the Female Athlete of the Year award.

A standout basketball player who will play at StFX University next season, MacKay also played soccer, ultimate Frisbee and table tennis at NNEC.

Halliday excelled in hockey, track, softball, ultimate Frisbee and badminton, while Simpson was a star athlete in cross-country running and track and field.

The school’s ski team was named Team of the Year after winning ​Intermediate girls and boys regional titles, with several members placing in the Top 5 in the province.

Below is a complete list of sports award winners for the 2017-18 year.

Top Golfers

Keighan DeCoff & Taylor Long

Cross Country Running

Leadership and dedication – Breanna Sandluck

Leadership and dedication – Raymond Simpson

Outstanding Achievement Award – Ethan MacDonald

Outstanding Achievement Award – Allie Sandluck

Varsity Disc Awards

Male Player of the Year – Oliver Schnare

Female Player of the Year – Abbie Delaney

Baseball Awards

MVP – Chad Russell

Top Pitcher – Cody LeBlanc

JV Girls Soccer

Jayden Palmer – MVP

Camryn Halliday – Top offensive player

Jenna Landry – Top Defensive Player

Varsity Girls Soccer

Best Team Player – Victoria Dunn

Best Offensive Player – Lindsey MacIvor

Best Defensive Player – Madison Schnare

The Hustler Award – Lucia MacKay

Varsity Boys Soccer

Coaches Choice Award: Joe McCarron

Offensive Player – Isaac MacDonald

Defensive Player – Branden Campbell

Unsung Hero – Max VanZyl

Badminton Awards

Best Intermediate Team – Christina Bailey and Kelly Hull

Best Senior Team – Sophia Wornell and Breanna Sandluck

Grade 9 Girls Volleyball

Coaches Award – Tori Whittemore

MVP – Taylor Long

Grade 9 Girls Volleyball

Coach’s Awards – Kelly Hull & Jaime Scott

JV Girls Volleyball

Emily Yatsynovich – Coach’s Award

Abbey O'Neil – Coach’s Award

Brooke MacEachern – Coach’s Award

Varsity Girls Volleyball

MVP – Roshan Ghafari

Rookie – Abygail Morrissey

Most improved – Lisa Penney

Danielle Farrell – MVP

Track & Field Awards

Ethan MacDonald – Intermediate Boys MVP Track and Field

Keighan DeCoff – Intermediate Girls MVP Track and Field

Heath Miller – Senior Girls MVP Track and Field

Ryan MacLennan – Senior Boys MVP Track Field

Coach’s Award – Alex Moore

Girls Softball Awards

Abby MacLean – most dedicated player

Christina Bailey – top batter

Annika Semple – top defensive award

Grade 9 Boys Basketball

Offensive Hustle Award – Gavin Green

Defensive Hustle Award – Accell Magparangalan

MVP – Jack Smith

Grade 9 Girls Basketball

Defensive MVP – Allie Morrison

Offensive MVP – Emily Arbuckle

Team MVP – Kaitlyn Jota

JV Boys Basketball

MVP – Alex Moore

Rookie of the year – Rocky Rankin

The Heart Trophy – Hunter MacDonald

JV Girls Basketball

MVP – Karielle Floyd

Hustle – Cailey Russell

Coach’s Award – Shalyn Henley

Boys Varsity Basketball

MVP – Chris Gillin

Defensive player – Layton Williams

Hustle award – Ethan MacQuarrie

Coach's award – Chad Russell

Girls Varsity Basketball

Co-MVP – Lucie MacKay

Co-MVP – Abbie Delaney

Most improved – Courtney Smith

Rookie of the year – Isa MacKay

Girls Hockey

MVP – Camryn Halliday

Coach's Award – Sarah MacNeil

Most Dedicated – Garyn Purvis

Leadership Award – Breanna Sandluck

Boys Hockey

MVP – Matt Chediac

Top Defence – Sean Duggan

Rookie of the Year – Vaughn MacEachern

Top Scorer – Ben Turnbull

Coach’s Award – Brayden Ross

Ski Team Awards

Outstanding Top Male – Max MacKinnon

Outstanding Top Female – Taylor Long

Snowboard Awards

Boys MVP – Dylan Wagner

Girls MVP – Taliah Knight

Boys Rugby Awards

MVP – Matt Munroe

Coach’s Award – Max MacKinnon

Coach’s Award – Ian MacDonald

Rookie of the year – Blake Fraser

Girls Rugby Awards

Top Forward – Cailtin Taylor

Rookie Forward – Sophia Wornell

Top Back – Victoria Straub

Rookie Back – Lauren MacLeod

Table Tennis Awards

Coach’s Awards – Kassi Brightman, Chad Russell, Josh Jota

The NSSAF Good Sport Award for Grade 9

Presented to grade 9 students who best demonstrate commitment to fair play, ethical behaviour, and integrity and who show respect and concern for others while participating in school sport.

Thomas Schare

Logan Horton

Emily Arbuckle

Taylor Long

NSSAF Exemplary Participation in Sports Award

Presented to student-athletes who best exemplify what it means to positively represent their school in a variety of sporting endeavors, both on and off the field, court, ice.

Sarah MacNeil, Chad Russell, and Snowboard Coach Ian Ebbett.

#88 Award

Sean Duggan

Presented to a student to commemorate the memory of Kale Mason (Class of 2016). The winner is someone who illustrated a passion for life, sports, and his/her friends butt, especially for showing overwhelming kindness and compassion, as Kale showed towards everyone he met.

Team of the Year – Ski Team

Neil MacKinnon presents Alex Moore and Breanna Sandluck with the True Grit Award.
Neil MacKinnon presents Alex Moore and Breanna Sandluck with the True Grit Award.


The Neil MacKinnon True Grit Award

True Grit Male – Alex Moore

True Grit Female – Breanna Sandluck

Awarded to a male and female athlete at NNEC who best personifies those qualities of a team player; competitor; role model; and leader both on and off the field. They illustrate the highest ideals of a true athlete and good person.

Athlete of the Year

Top Male

Nominees: Noah Teed, Raymond Simpson, Ryan Mannan, Alex Moore

Winner: Ray Simpson

Athlete of the Year

Top Female

Nominees: Jesen Arsenault, Camryn Halliday, Lucia MacKay, Courtney Smith, Sophia Wornell, Breanna Sandluck

Co-Winners: Camryn Halliday and Lucia MacKay

Sean Duggan won the #88 award, named for the late Kale Mason.
Sean Duggan won the #88 award, named for the late Kale Mason.

Recent Stories